Where did the week go?

I swear it was just barely pday. Something funny, when I was sending my letter, Hna Ruiz saw our address and said, “Vive en Jupiter?” Ha ha ha ha.

As for this week, our “numbers” weren’t great, but we were still very blessed. We met with the familia Gorigoitia and watched the Only a Stonecutter movie and had a great discussion about staying faithful and perservering always.
Tuesday was my first real day as a real missionary!  (she completed her official training period) Crazy! Which is weird, I actually do feel different. Now that I’m more accustomed to mission life, I can focus on the more important things, like becoming a good teacher. 🙂 We did lots of fun contacting this day, including less actives from la lista.
Wed was SO long. I felt like this elder from the District videos – “I’m so tired, so I don’t know why I’m so happy.” There are long days like this one, but they are all still good. We probably contacted about 2000 people (mas o menos), no not really, but lots of antiguo investigadores and the houses in the streets. One guy, Willy, started crying when we were talking to him! He feel really alone, I felt so bad. Then I look at Hna R and she is about to start laughing! Ha ha. That’s my comp! Oh, another random thing, there were some borrachos (drunks) around 4 or 5 (early, right?) and they yelled some things at us. Normally, it doesn’t phase me cause its in spanish/ I cant understand it. But this time they said some things in english, which I understood perfectly. Freaked me out a little bit, but I’m fine. 🙂
Thurs was Hna Gonzales´ cumpleaños!! We had to have cake for breakfast (so difficult :P) because Hna Ruiz and I spent the night in Buin again (for her consejo the next day). Also, we went in the morning to San Bernardo for her carnet stuff, and on the train, I talked to someone! Kinda a big deal. It wasnt perfect, but he understood me! Woo!
Friday I spent in Buin with Hna Zelaya again. We are pretty tight now. She also taught me a cool analogy – that the scriptures are like the yummiest food, but you can’t know that you love it (or know they are true) unless you try it for yourself! 🙂 I loved spending time there, in the morning for exercise, we went outside their house and passed a volleyball! So fun. And Hna Davis from California made me breakfast! So nice.
Saturday we contacted an antiguo that was taught by other hnas earlier this year. She was really receptive and remembered alot! Hopefully we can continue to visit her. We also met with Carmen, the mamá of Marco, one of our recent converts. Obviously the elders who taught Marco tried to teach her, but she’s very catholic, not very receptive. So initially we just tried to befriend her and casually get to know her. And know we are teaching her more the lessons and she’s been pretty receptive! Even reading the book of mormon! Pretty awesome. We also had a fantastic lunch with my favorite, Hna Rebeca. She spoke some english, the CUTEST. Like, “I’m fine” and “whatever”. Ha ha ha. She also taught Hna R and I after lunch how to make super yummy bread. YES! Lastly, we had our english class. No one showed up at first, so the elders were just teaching Hna Ruiz, mostly slang, like “sup playa”. But then we practiced writing a letter (see pic) to Hna R´s imaginary boyfriend and she said “I don’t think on you”. Ha ha.
Sunday was way good. We had a sacrament meeting on the meaning of the sacrament! I have this little acronym that I like to think of during the sacrament that helps me remember the covenants we make – its easy. TAKE the sacrament: Take his name upon us, Always remember him, Keep his commandments, and Endure to the end. 🙂 You’re welcome. After church and a quick choir practice, we had the most amazing lunch ever. It was this tasty roast meat stuff and rice…No kidding, I probably ate 12 oz or more of the meat, and two plates of rice. So good. Later in the evening we had the official choir practice for the christmas devotional we are going to have in Buin. Elder Archuleta is going to sing! Woah woah. And I’m playing for our branch choir..so nbd. The pic I attached with the sheet music has Elder Archuletas handwriting…you could probably sell it for big bucks 😉 Later later we had a lesson with Javier and Celia..and it was my lead. It went fine, but still freaks me out to speak so much.
Overall, a good week. And this week is gonna ROCK. 🙂 Love you all and thanks for everything!!
Leave a Reply

