Last week in Chile..

Well, guys, Kellie here. I just wanted to let you know about my last week in the mission. It was stressful, crazy, challenging, amazing, beautiful, perfect.

Monday was my last preparation day, so I got the luggage all in order, picked the clothes I wanted to take home, then gave away all the rest. Merry Christmas number 2! Later that evening we had an awesome family night with Enrique + Ana, the Gatica family, and Alejandra. It was such a success, and we all enjoyed a great time together.

Tuesday was a very special day for me, because me and my group got to go to the Santiago Temple! We stayed the night before in Rancagua so that we could wake up nice and early on Tues and the secretaries picked us up. We got to do a session, then had lunch, and obviously photos. I felt SO peaceful there, and it helped me immensely with the stress I was facing with the rest of the week. It truly is God’s house here upon the earth, and we can recieve personal answers and guidance there.

Wednesday I had my last district meeting! Plus, it was a zone training meeting, so I presented some of what we had learned in our leadership council. Plus, bore my “last testimony”, and took lots of zone pics.

Thurs was probably our only “normal” day of work, even though it still wasnt really that normal, because we had lots of wedding and baptism preparations to get done…..

Friday was that big day! Luis and Clarisa tied the knot! It was SO amazing, thanks to the major support from all the members. They helped us out with all the food, the cake, the decorations, the music, the dancing… etc etc. It was so special to see the love these two have for eachother, plus now they are truly a family!

And Saturday was a special day for the family, because Clarisa finally got baptized! She was just a tad bit nervous before (nearly everyone is), but when she came out of the water, she cried a bit, but tears of JOY. And she shared how she had waited so long for that day, and was so grateful it had finally come. Love them SO much and I honestly can’t think of a more special way to end my mission, or a more special last baptism. šŸ™‚

Sunday Clarisa got confirmed, I shared a talk in sacrament meeting, and had to say a few hard goodbyes. I was surprised how much I kept myself together, but there were definitely some emotional moments, especially with saying goodbye. The ward held a little get together with various members for all the missionaries going, but especially me and ending the mission. SO happy I could spend those last moments with them, and with many other people that are so so so special to me.

The next monday was my last day in Chile, I woke up, finished the bags and cleaning, then headed to Rancagua to the mission home. I had my last interview, we ate lunch, and we had a final testimony meeting. I got to be there and chat with Hna Fast and Hna Wilson as their parents picked them up… it was fun to get to know them, plus it prepared me for all the english! Later that evening, I got a exclusive ride to Santiago with Pres and Hna Warne. They helped me get through security, etc, and then I was on the plane home! I was really good up until the point when the plane took off, and thats where I absolutely lost it.

Chile has truly been my second home and Im not going to lie, it was really hard to leave. I don’t know if or when I’ll be able to go back, but for now, I’ll just have to keep busy on Facebook and Skype to keep up with everyone I’ve come to love.

And well, now I’m home. Loving being home, being with the family, and I keep living the best life ever. SO blessed. šŸ™‚100_8658 100_8667 100_8672 100_8712 100_8776 100_8801 100_8856 100_8869 100_8916 100_8924

Leave a Reply

